

Callahan's celebrated 60 years of marriage recently. Now celebrating 62 years with HSA... and the end of Callahan's at camp.

Special Awards and their recipients for 2018

4

Racing Awards and their recipients for 2018



Dom Everaet, at left, won HSA's Larry Johnson Challenger Trophy.

# Acton Action Volume 62 Issue 11 November 7, 2018



Banquet Drops Anchor on HSA's 2018 Sailing Adventure; Callahan's to Leave Camps Behind

It was a fitting ending. In a season that was as often filled with gales of wind as it was with days of slow sweetness, the banquet revived our spirits with gales of laughter and moments of somber tribute.

The laughter came easy and often. The tribute, its poignant opposite. Amid the smiles came the realization that at least one long time tradition was really coming to an end. It was the Callahan's official announcement that after nearly four decades of leading HSA's Junior and Ladies Camp that 2019 would be their last. (continued next page)



Above: New HSA Commodore Laura Beebe Below: New Rear Commodore Joe Fulford



## **Banquet Drops Anchor**

(continued from page 1)

When JoAnn Callahan rose to speak, everyone knew what was coming. After too many years to count, the couple who have been sailing at Hueston Woods since the lake and club formed in 1956 and who had been at the helm of junior and ladies camp for more than 35 years, formally announced that they would retire from running those camps.

JoAnn, emotional at first, soon regained her composure and went on to recruit their replacements with stories about camp and what it takes to make them work.

The Callahan's, who retired from racing (three years ago for Jerry) but have remained active in the club and will no doubt still be active, received a standing ovation.

It was then on to awards for an interesting 2018 season, one that saw the introduction of two new events that hold promise for the future and one that gained in stature.

One new event was the Round the Lake race, won by outgoing commodore Jerry Brewster in September. That race involved all fleets in one start and went from dredge to dam. It is likely to return for 2019.

Another event that seems to have a future is CruiserFest, a first time race for cruisers which coincided with The Big Dock Picnic hosted by Dave Judy. Curt Donohue and crew Charlie DeArmon won that event in Curt's San Juan 21.

The Capri Club Championship had its second round this past year and also seems like a safe bet to continue on the schedule. Megan DeArmon, barely out of high school, won that contest in 2018.

The banquet featured wine tasting, a rousing trivia game, a slideshow (available on our Facebook page), and a whole boatload of trophies to recognize the club's fastest sailors. More on that elsewhere in this issue.

The evening concluded with the results of the election of officers. New for 2019 are Rear Commodore Joe Fulford and Commodore Laura Beebe.



**Bob's Sportsmanship Award** -Donated by Bob Darlin in 1962, awarded annually for distinguished service and sportsmanship. Winner: **Roger Henthorn** 

Frank Peters Memorial Sportsmanship Award - Donated by Robert Boies in 1972, awarded annually to a person for sportsmanship exhibited over the competitive sailing season. Winner: Kevin DeArmon

**U.S. Sailing Sportsmanship Award -** Donated by the U.S. Sailing Association in 1986, awarded annually to a person who has done the most to improve or promote the sport of sailing on Acton Lake. Winner: **Laura Beebe** 

Larry L. Johnson Challenger Trophy - created in memory of Larry Johnson and awarded annually to the HSA member who consistently strives to improve their sailing skills, demonstrates good sportsmanship and is active with the club. Winner: Dominiek Everaet

**HSA Junior Champion** - awarded annually to the junior sailor who wins the A Fleet competition during junior camp for best all around boat handling, sailing knowledge and competitive accomplishment. Winner: **Will Hater** 

# 2018 Special Awards







## Catamarans

Joe Buchert - 1st Memorial Day, Nacra 16

Don Fecher - 1st Spring, Hobie 16

Charlie Buchert - 1st Labor Day, Hobie 16

Mike Wier- 2nd Memorial Day, Hobie 16





Above: Pete and Rose holding Y-Flyer awards Below: Roger and Bobbie hold their Y-Flyer awards

### Racing Awards 2018

#### **Y-Flyers**

Roger Henthorn/Bobbie Bode -

2nd Spring; 2nd Fall; 2nd Memorial Day; 1st 4th of July; 2nd Labor Day

Pete Peters/Rose Schultz - 1st Spring; 1st Fall; 1st Memorial Day; 3rd 4th of July

Mike Stratton/Kofi/Cosette -

2nd 4th of July; 1st Labor Day

#### Handicap

Ken Wright - 1st Fall; 2nd Memorial Day Sunfish

Kevin DeArmon - 3rd Memorial Day - Sunfish

Jerry Brewster - 4th Memorial Day; Around the Lake Champion -Capri

Laura Beebe - 1st Memorial Day; 1st Labor Day - Sunfish

Diane Pierok - 1st Fall - Capri

Julie Molleran - 1st 4th of July -Sunfish

Chris Snider - 2nd 4th of July; 2nd Capri Club Championship - Capri

Megan DeArmon - 3rd 4th of July; Capri Club Champion - Sunfish and Capri

Brian Callahan - 1st Spring - Sunfish

Sunfish Series (4 regattas)

Laura Beebe - 1st

Bill Molleran - 2nd

Mike Stratton - 3rd







